Priest: Reverend Christopher R. Burke
302 Third AvenueBrownsville, PA. 15417 Get Directions
Organized in 1911 by immigrants from Subcarpathian Rus’ and Hungary, St. Nicholas Church stands as a monument to their deep spirituality. The church building is almost cathedral-sized and offers an appropriate place in which to thank and to praise God in their beloved Byzantine Catholic tradition.
After organization in 1911, services were temporarily held in a neighbor church, the First Hungarian Presbyterian Church. The first pastor was Father Constantine Roskovics. A basement church finally was constructed and dedicated on February 22, 1913. As funds became available, an upper church was built and dedicated on July 4, 1918. The parish celebrated the burning of the mortgages on October 10, 1948 with Bishop Daniel Ivancho.
Artistically beautiful stained glass windows grace the church today as reminders of donations from parishioners who emigrated from the Subcarpathian counties of Bereg, Ungvar and Zemplyn, and from Hungary. Since 1971 a unique glass icon screen complements the outstanding glass windows.
The humble and hard-working families of the parish will ever be gratefully remembered for they sacrificed their savings as loans to the parish to accomplish the building of the church, rectory and the purchase of a church cemetery.